2017 AIA Design Awards Chair – Blake Thames

After volunteering as an AIA Dallas Design Awards committee member for 4 years, GFF’s Blake Thames was selected to lead the committee as Chair for 2017. The Design Awards committee works throughout the year organizing events that elevate regional conversations about design excellence and celebrate the outstanding work being produced by AIA Dallas member architects. The committee brings world renowned designers to Dallas twice a year to serve as jurors for two distinct competitions, featuring Unbuilt projects in the spring and honoring Built projects in the fall. 2017 marks 50 years of AIA Dallas Design Awards, and with Blake as chair, both Unbuilt and Built awards programs saw their highest levels of participation in recent memory.